Top Instructor Award

Instructors of apprenticeship classes at Alberta technical training institutions impact the success of individual apprentices.

The Top Instructor Awards provide formal recognition of exceptional instructors. Two awards are presented annually – for the north and south regions of Alberta.

Nomination information:

Alberta apprentices attending a college or technical institute may nominate an instructor who taught apprenticeship technical training funded by Alberta Advanced Education. This includes instructors teaching theory, shop, or a combination of both. 

Nomination criteria:

A nominee for a Top Instructor Award:

  • performs beyond the requirements of the average instructor;
  • has excellent presentation skills; and
  • is fair, friendly and firm.

Award presentation:

Top Instructor Awards are presented at the annual Alberta Apprenticeship and Industry Awards of Excellence.

Past Recipients – Top Instructor Award: 

  • 2020

    • David Suggett - Heavy Equipment Technician Program, NAIT
    • Warren Thunstrom - Recreation Vehicle Service Technician Program, SAIT
  • 2019

    • Tony Shmyruk - Welder Program, Grande Prairie Regional College
    • Gary Halvorson - Carpenter Program, Red Deer College
  • 2018

    • Tim Arychuk - Electrician Program, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
    • Mike Bain - Electrician Program, Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
  • 2017

    • Roger Elder - Electrician Program, Grande Prairie Regional College
    • Elizabeth Kawahara - Landscape Horticulturist Program, Olds College
  • 2016

    • John McKenzie - Steamfitter-Pipefitter Program, Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
    • Terry Welch - Electrician Program, Red Deer College